Wednesday, 4 January 2012

Ancient Vedic Syllabus-1 : Vatu

This series of posts will introduce you to the syllabus structure of old Indian Vedic Schools known as Gurukulas.

Education Types:
  • Agni Vidhya = Spiritual Education
  • Mruthyu Vidhya = Worldly Education
There were 4 main stream Courses called as Vidhya Varnas:
  1. Brahma: Jnana       =        Knowledge oriented
  2. Kshatra: Bala         =        Administration and Power oriented
  3. Vaishya: Sampath  =        Bussiness & management oriented
  4. Shudra: Bhakti       =        Devotion & service oriented
Birth + Good Physical & Mental Development --> Human 
Human + Upaneetha --> Vatu 
Vatu + Severe Interest & Prerequisits= Vidhyarthi (Student)

Prerequists: Basic studies in the following streams will qualify a Vatu to become a Vidhyarthi:
  1. Veda: Ultimate truth & knowledge. Now 4 texts in number.
  2. Upanishat: Elaboration of some veda mantra. Now 100's in number.
  3. Saamajika Ithihaasa: historical events, related to divinity, austerity, morality, written for the society. Eg: Ramayana, Mahabharata.
  4. Purana: Ancient narration of the universe from creation to destruction, genealogies of kings, heroes, sages, and demigods, and descriptions of Hindu cosmology, philosophy, and geography. Now 18 main & 18 sub Puranas available.
  5. Prakruthi Parisara: Environmental Science.
  6. Samaja Dharma: Social Conduct, law & order.

No comments:

Post a Comment